images (1)

Home life in Slovenia

Hi, I’m Eva and I’m going to write about some routines of Slovenian families that are present in my family.

Everything starts between 6 and 7 o’clock during the week. It depends on the beginning of parent’s jobs. For instance, my mom wakes up at 6:30 a.m. She first makes coffee and some breakfast. My father usually gets up 15 minutes later, and they eat their breakfast together. At around 7 my sister and I wake up as well and join them. I always have bread, butter and honey, or cereal. Although I’m a teenager I don’t drink coffee. Coffee isn’t popular in primary school yet. My mom leaves home first and about one hour later I leave as the second one. Because school is quite close, I don’t need to take the bus, which many of my classmates do. I usually come home between 1 and 2 p.m.

In Slovenia, for most people, work ends between 3 and 4 o’clock in the afternoon. When parents come home a lot of families have lunch together. I can’t say anything about dinner, cuz we don’t eat it together at my home. There are just too many activities each of us has. But we do gather around in the evening, usually in front of the TV. I love watching TV in the evening, especially in the winter.

During the weekends people in my country do their housework or go on  trips.
I personally like going out for afternoon walks, go to the city by my bike or just  watch a film in the cinema.

by EVA ŽUNA

Leave a Reply

