UNIT 6

VOCABULARY 

  • Complete the sentences with the words from the box. There’s one extra word.

bitter        greasy        mild        overcooked        salty        sour        spices        sweet        tasteless        tasty        underdone

  • The steak was really ____tasty____ – neither too hot nor too mild, just right. Compliments to the chef.
  • The side dish was rather _______________. It had no real flavour.
  • When I was in London, I had a traditional English take-away dish – fish and chips – for lunch one day. I was a bit disappointed. It was too _______________. There was oil all over my hands.
  • When preparing chicken, you have to cook it long enough. If it’s _______________, you can end up suffering from salmonella.
  • My mum is an excellent cook. She says _______________ make a dish taste so much better.
  • Oh, dear. The soup is too _______________. I must have added too much salt.
  • I can’t make pancakes, the milk has turned _______________. Why don’t you go down to the shop and get some?
  • This cheese has a really _______________ flavour. Kids just love it.
  • If the coffee is too _______________ for your taste, put some sugar in it.
  • Don’t cook the vegetables too long. They’ll lose their flavour if they are _______________.
  • Underline the correct word.
  • How would you like your steak, sir? Rare / Raw, medium or well-done?
  • What would you like for your dessert / starter, madam? I recommend prawn cocktail or mushroom pâté.
  • I just adore fried eggs, hard-boiled / sunny-side-up are my favourite.
  • Let’s have a barbecue. We can grill / bake those lamb chops dad brought from the butcher’s.
  • To make my famous salad sauce / salad dressing I use extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, rosemary, thyme and a pinch of salt. I gently stir all the ingredients and pour over the salad.
  • Do you prefer still or sparkling / glittering water?
  • I love home-made / domestic They are so much better than the ones from the supermarket.
  • Don’t cut the bread on the table. Use the chopping board / rolling pin.
  • Take the sieve / ladle and serve the soup, will you? I’ll be right back.
  • My coffee is too sweet. I must have put in one tablespoon / teaspoonof sugar too many.
  • Put the words from the box into the right column.

apple strudel       baby carrots       baked potatoes       banana split       beef goulash

beef soup with noodles       cherry pie       chicken risotto        chocolate mousse       duck paté       fried beans        fried fish       fruit cake       garlic mushrooms        grilled trout

lamb casserole       mashed potatoes       mushroom soup       pancakes       peas       pork chop       prawn cocktail       rice       roast chicken       sorbet       soup of the day       spinach

tomato soup

Starters Main courses Side dishes Desserts
apple strudel
  • (Level 1) Complete the conversation. Use the words from the box.

bill      course      drink      enjoy      main      order      piece      rest      starters      table

Waiter:       Good evening, sir, madam. Can I help you?

Mr Smith:   Good evening. We’ve got a reservation for a 1___table___ for two.

Waiter:       In what name?

Mr Smith:   Smith.

Waiter:       Yes, here you are. May I show you to the table?

Waiter:       May I bring you anything to 2__________________?

Mr Smith:   Two glasses of house wine, please.

Waiter:       Red or white?

Mrs Smith: Red, please.

Waiter:       Right away. I’ll bring you the menus.

Waiter:       Are you ready to 3_________________?

Mr Smith:   What do you recommend?

Waiter:       For 4_________________ I recommend creamy mushroom soup with croutons or beef soup with home-made noodles.

Mrs Smith: I’ll have the beef soup.

Mr Smith:   Make that two please.

Waiter:       And for the 5_________________ course?

Mr Smith:   I’ll have rump steak with baked potatoes and carrots, please.

Waiter:       Rump steak with carr…

Mr Smith:   Sorry, could I have Brussels sprouts instead of carrots?

Waiter:       Of 6__________________. And for you, madam?

Mrs Smith: I’d like grilled trout with boiled potatoes and spinach.

Waiter:       Excellent choice. Would you like a salad with that?

Mrs Smith: Yes, cucumber salad for me.

Mr Smith:   And I’ll have a mixed salad, please.

Waiter:       Thank you. It’ll take about 20 minutes.

Waiter:       Did you 7___________________ your meal?

Mr Smith:   Yes, it was delicious. Our compliments to the chef.

Waiter:       Can I bring you anything for dessert?

Mrs Smith: Well, I’d like a 8_____________________ of strawberry cake with whipped cream.

Mr Smith:   And a cup of coffee for me, please.

Waiter:       Right away.

Mr Smith:   Could I get the 9_________________, please?

Waiter:       Certainly, sir. Will you pay in cash or by credit card?

Mr Smith:   In cash.

(Mr Smith pays for the meal.)

Mr Smith:   The 10________________ is for you.

Waiter:       Thank you very much, sir. Goodbye.

Mr and Mrs Smith: Goodbye.

(Level 2) Complete the conversation. Use the words from the box. There are two extra words.

bill       course       drink       eat       enjoy       main       order       peace       piece       rest       starters      table

 

Waiter:       Good evening, sir, madam. Can I help you?

Mr Smith:   Good evening. We’ve got a reservation for a 1___table___ for two.

Waiter:       In what name?

Mr Smith:   Smith.

Waiter:       Yes, here you are. May I show you to the table?

Waiter:       May I bring you anything to 2__________________?

Mr Smith:   Two glasses of house wine, please.

Waiter:       Red or white?

Mrs Smith: Red, please.

Waiter:       Right away. I’ll bring you the menus.

Waiter:       Are you ready to 3_________________?

Mr Smith:   What do you recommend?

Waiter:       For 4_________________ I recommend creamy mushroom soup with croutons or beef soup with home-made noodles.

Mrs Smith: I’ll have the beef soup.

Mr Smith:   Make that two please.

Waiter:       And for the 5_________________ course?

Mr Smith:   I’ll have rump steak with baked potatoes and carrots, please.

Waiter:       Rump steak with carr…

Mr Smith:   Sorry, could I have Brussels sprouts instead of carrots?

Waiter:       Of 6__________________. And for you, madam?

Mrs Smith: I’d like grilled trout with boiled potatoes and spinach.

Waiter:       Excellent choice. Would you like a salad with that?

Mrs Smith: Yes, cucumber salad for me.

Mr Smith:   And I’ll have a mixed salad, please.

Waiter:       Thank you. It’ll take about 20 minutes.

Waiter:       Did you 7___________________ your meal?

Mr Smith:   Yes, it was delicious. Our compliments to the chef.

Waiter:       Can I bring you anything for dessert?

Mrs Smith: Well, I’d like a 8_____________________ of strawberry cake with whipped cream.

Mr Smith:   And a cup of coffee for me, please.

Waiter:       Right away.

Mr Smith:   Could I get the 9_________________, please?

Waiter:       Certainly, sir. Will you pay in cash or by credit card?

Mr Smith:   In cash.

(Mr Smith pays for the meal.)

Mr Smith:   The 10________________ is for you.

Waiter:       Thank you very much, sir. Goodbye.

Mr and Mrs Smith: Goodbye.

  • (Level 3) Complete the conversation.

Waiter:       Good evening, sir, madam. Can I help you?

Mr Smith:   Good evening. We’ve got a reservation for a 1___table___ for two.

Waiter:       In what name?

Mr Smith:   Smith.

Waiter:       Yes, here you are. May I show you to the table?

Waiter:       May I bring you anything to 2__________________?

Mr Smith:   Two glasses of house wine, please.

Waiter:       Red or white?

Mrs Smith: Red, please.

Waiter:       Right away. I’ll bring you the menus.

Waiter:       Are you ready to 3_________________?

Mr Smith:   What do you recommend?

Waiter:       For 4_________________ I recommend creamy mushroom soup with croutons or beef soup with home-made noodles.

Mrs Smith: I’ll have the beef soup.

Mr Smith:   Make that two please.

Waiter:       And for the 5_________________ course?

Mr Smith:   I’ll have rump steak with baked potatoes and carrots, please.

Waiter:       Rump steak with carr…

Mr Smith:   Sorry, could I have Brussels sprouts instead of carrots?

Waiter:       Of 6__________________. And for you, madam?

Mrs Smith: I’d like grilled trout with boiled potatoes and spinach.

Waiter:       Excellent choice. Would you like a salad with that?

Mrs Smith: Yes, cucumber salad for me.

Mr Smith:   And I’ll have a mixed salad, please.

Waiter:       Thank you. It’ll take about 20 minutes.

Waiter:       Did you 7___________________ your meal?

Mr Smith:   Yes, it was delicious. Our compliments to the chef.

Waiter:       Can I bring you anything for dessert?

Mrs Smith: Well, I’d like a 8_____________________ of strawberry cake with whipped cream.

Mr Smith:   And a cup of coffee for me, please.

Waiter:       Right away.

Mr Smith:   Could I get the 9_________________, please?

Waiter:       Certainly, sir. Will you pay in cash or by credit card?

Mr Smith:   In cash.

(Mr Smith pays for the meal.)

Mr Smith:   The 10________________ is for you.

Waiter:       Thank you very much, sir. Goodbye.

Mr and Mrs Smith: Goodbye.

  • Complete the sentences. Use a word from the same word family as the word in brackets.
  • I don’t recommend Thai cooking if you don’t like ___spicy___ food. (spice)
  • If you don’t know how to make pancakes, look it up in the ______________ book. (cook)
  • I’m going camping this summer. I’ve already bought a gas ______________ . (cook)
  • I don’t think I’ll be able to have a ______________ and a dessert; I’ll be too full. (start)
  • Use the big ______________ knife to slice the peppers and chop the onions. (chop)
  • I’ll have ______________ melon with vanilla ice cream for dessert, please. (chill)
  • What kind of ______________ should I put on the cup cakes? (ice)
  • I’m full. I’ve just had two portions of home-made dumplings with plum ______________. (fill)
  • Mmm, these peaches are delicious, so tender and ______________ . (juice)
  • Would you like rice or ______________ potatoes with your steak? (mash)

GRAMMAR

  • Put the verbs in brackets into the right form.
  • If you don’t stop (not stop) eating high-calorie food, you will gain(gain) weight.
  • Your mum __________________ (not like) it if you __________________ (dye) your hair pink.
  • You __________________ (get) sunburnt if you __________________ (stay) in the sun too long.
  • We __________________ (be able to save) some money if we __________________ (wait) for another week and __________________ (buy) things on sale.
  • If he __________________ (not feel) better soon, I __________________ (take) him to the doctor’s.
  • Sandra’s taking part in a singing contest. If she __________________ (win), she __________________ (take) us all to the new restaurant for lunch.
  • Don’t forget to buy something for the host family. You __________________ (make) a good impression if you __________________ (take) them a gift.
  • She skis too fast. If she __________________ (not be) more careful, she __________________ (cause) an accident.
  • If I __________________ (be) lucky, I __________________ (win) the jackpot.
  • If you __________________ (be) hungry, we __________________ (stop) for a takeaway.
  • Paraphrase the sentences using type 1 conditional clauses. More than one answer is possible.
  • I hope the weather will stay fine tomorrow, so that we won’t have to cancel our barbecue.

If the weather gets worse, we’ll have to cancel our barbecue.

  • Let’s go by plane. It’ll be faster than by train.

  • I might miss the bus. In that case I’ll have to call my mum to pick me up.

  • You’re late. I hope you won’t be late again next time. Otherwise, I’ll go home without you.

  • Do your homework regularly and study more. This way I’m sure you’ll be able to pass the exam.

  • I can’t find my mobile phone. I’m afraid I’ll have to buy a new one.

  • Follow me and you won’t get lost.

  • Laura should be here by now. I’ll wait for ten more minutes and then I’ll call her parents.

  • Look at those clouds. I hope there won’t be a storm. I don’t want to go home yet.

  • Our washing machine has broken down. I hope the repairman will fix it today. I really hate doing the washing by hand.

  • You’re going to bed early tonight so you’ll be able to get up more easily tomorrow morning.
Leave a Reply

