COULD

 

COULD / COULDN’T

  1. Her grandmother ____________________________ speak both English and Spanish.
  2. Yesterday, Peter ________________ do that exercise alone. So, he called me for help.
  3. In 1950, people _____________________________ use mobile phones.
  4. When his mother was young, she ________________ skate but she can’t do it any longer.
  5. We _____________________________ open the door: it was locked from the inside!
  6. In 1900, people ____________________________ watch TV.
  7. Mary’s grandfather ____________________________ play chess and he was the best!
  8. In 1945, people _____________________________ play video games.
  9. But they _____________________________ play chess!
  10. Peter __________________________ play tennis last Monday: he had broken his arm!
  11. When Ann was a teenager, she _____________ watch a horror film: it was too frightening for her!
  12. Last Sunday, we __________________ take any photos in the museum: it was forbidden.
  13. Mozart _____________________________ play the piano when he was 5.
  14. When I was young, I ______________________ play the guitar: it was too difficult for me!

CAN, CAN’T, COULD, COULDN’T

  1. When Tom was 16, he was a fast runner. He ______ run 200 metres in 22 seconds.              a) can      b) could       c) can’t    d) couldn’t
  1. I’m afraid I ______ come to your party next Saturday.        a) can          b) could                   c) can’t                  d) couldn’t
  1. I’m not in a hurry. I’ve got plenty of time. I _______ wait.       a) can       b) could            c) can’t               d) couldn’t
  1. I was feeling terribly sick yesterday. I ________ eat anything.             a) can      b) could                c) can’t              d) couldn’t
  1. Can you speak loudly, please? I _______ hear you very well.    a) can b) could          c) can’t                 d) couldn’t
  1. “You look exhausted.” “Yes, I _________ sleep last night.         a) can     b) could       c) can’t      d) couldn’t
Leave a Reply

