Unit 8 – grammar

 

  • Insert the correct form of the verbs in brackets.

Reporter: Here I am with PI Chloe Burke who 1has taken (take) a few minutes of her time to speak to us. Hello Miss Burke. To start with, let me ask you how come you 2_________________   (decide) to become a private investigator?

PI Burke:    Well, I blame my uncle for that, really. It was he who 3_________________   (give) me a book by Agatha Christie for my 12th birthday. It 4_________________   (feature) Hercule Poirot as the main character. As soon as I started reading it, I 5_________________   (become) addicted to detective stories. I 6_________________   (dream) of becoming as famous as Poirot ever since.

Reporter: Are your cases as interesting as Poirot’s?

PI Burke:    I can’t say they’re as interesting as his, but they’re quite exciting. My work never 7_________________   (get) boring. My clients 8_________________   (have) all sorts of requests and each case is different. I 9_________________   (admit) it can be quite hard at times, but I have to stay professional and can’t show my feelings although I feel like crying sometimes.

Reporter: 10_________________   (you / remember) your first case?

PI Burke:    Of course I do. You never forget the first one. It was ten years ago. A man 11_________________   (contact) me. He 12_________________   (try) to find his old girlfriend who had moved to another town some years before. He had tried everything to find her. He had even put an ad in the papers but there was no reply. Fortunately, I was luckier and 13_________________   (manage) to find her. They got married. They 14_________________   (send) me a thank you note every year.

Reporter: But not all cases end so happily, do they?

PI Burke:    No, they don’t. Some 15_________________   (not have) such a happy ending. But you need to learn to live with that.

Reporter: One last question. What 16_________________   (you / recommend) to kids who would like to become private investigators?

PI Burke:    Well, the most important thing is to be very observant and have an inquisitive mind. Always 17_________________   (ask) questions, 18_________________   (not be) satisfied with the answers people give you. And last but not least, trust your intuition.

Reporter: That’s great advice. Thanks for your time and good luck with your work.

  • Insert the correct form of the verbs in brackets.
  • If the weather __is__ (be) nice tomorrow, I __’ll walk__ (walk) to school.
  • Kate never leaves any shoes outside the house. If she ____________ (do), her dog ______________ (chew) them up.
  • I’ve been really tired lately. I ______________ (go) on holiday if I ______________ (have) some free time.
  • We can’t buy a new car. If we ______________ (buy) it, we______________ (use) all our savings.
  • Mother to a child: “If you _______________ (break) any more toys, Santa _______________ (not bring) you any new ones!”
  • Don’t worry. If you ______________ (catch) the 7.15 train, you_____________ (have) plenty of time.
  • I think you spend way too much time on the computer. If you _______________ (study) more, your grades ______________ (be) much better.
  • You look really sick. If I ______________ (be) you, I____________ (go) and see a doctor.
  • Complete the sentences with the correct form of must, have to, should, may or might. The Slovenian verbs in brackets will help you.
  • You spend too much money. You _’ll have to__ (moral boš) save some if you really want to buy an iPad.
  • Doctor says to a patient: You ____________ (ne bi smel) eat so much unhealthy food and you _____________ (moral bi) exercise more.
  • Children ____________ (morajo) obey their parents.
  • Sarah is travelling around Turkey; she ______________ (ni ji treba) have a visa.
  • I really _______________ (moral bi) do more exercise, but I just can’t find the time.
  • It’s really important that you finish this on time. You ______________ (ne smeš) forget.
  • I can stay a little longer. I _________________ (ni mi treba) go yet.
  • She’s ill. She __________________ (morala bo) stay at home.
  • I ______________ (mogoče) go out this evening. I don’t know yet.
  • You really must call your parents. They ____________ (mogoče ne bodo) allow you to stay out so late.
  • Translate the sentences into Slovenian.
  • They’ll move as soon as they find a suitable house.

Preselili se bodo, takoj ko najdejo primerno hišo.________________________________

  • When I finish my homework, I’ll go out to play basketball with my friends.

  • I want to be a cook in a good restaurant when I grow up.

  • What will you study when you finish secondary school?

  • Mr Hill will call you back as soon as he gets the message.

 

  • Translate the sentences into English.
  • Poklicala te bom, takoj ko pridem domov.

I’ll call you as soon as I get home._____________________________________________

  • Ko se naša rokometna ekipa vrne s prvenstva, bomo pripravili zabavo.

  • Kaj boš delal, ko končaš šolo?

  • Ko bom pomila posodo, bom odnesla še smeti.

  • Ko se bo moja mama upokojila, bo veliko potovala.

 

Leave a comment